UConn WBB Guard Paige Bueckers on the Lieberman Award Watch List

Bueckers Named to Lieberman Award Watch List

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. –UConn women’s basketball freshman Paige Bueckers was named one of 20 watch list candidates for the 2021 Nancy Lieberman Award, as announced by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association Monday.

Now in its 22ndyear, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates exhibit the floor leadership, play-making and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman.

Bueckers comes to UConn as the top-ranked recruit in the 2020 signing class. She was the 2020 Gatorade Female Athlete of the Year, Naismith Prep Player of the Year and Morgan Wootten Player of the Year, and a 2020 McDonald’s, SLAM and Jordan Brand Classic All-American.

College basketball fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In early February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2021 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In early March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.Starting Five Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies will go live on Friday, November 13.

The winner of the 2021 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented April 9, 2021, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Previous winners of the Nancy Lieberman Award include Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20), Kelsey Plum, Washington (2017),Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut (2015-16), Odyssey Sims, Baylor (2014), Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13), Courtney Vandersloot, Gonzaga (2011), Andrea Riley, Oklahoma State (2010),Renee Montgomery, Connecticut (2009), Kristi Toliver, Maryland (2008), Lindsey Harding, Duke (2007), Ivory Latta, North Carolina (2006), Temeka Johnson, LSU (2005),Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04), andSue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

2021 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Destiny Slocum


DiDi Richards


Dyaisha Fair


Micaela Kelly

Central Michigan

Paige Bueckers


Tiana England

Florida State

Ali Patberg


Tra-'Dayja Smith


Hailey Van Lith


Amy Dilk


Myah Taylor

Mississippi State

Raina Perez

NC State

Cece Hooks


Diamond Johnson


Nevena Dimitrijevic

St. Francis - Brooklyn

Tiana Mangakahia


Lauren Heard


Kyra Lambert


Dru Glyten


Katia Gallegos


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2020-21 season

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content